People

Principal Investigator

Dr. Mindy Shi

Xinghua Mindy Shi, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor (short biography, Google Scholar citations)

Bioinformatics 357
Department of Bioinformatics and Genomics
College of Computing and Informatics
University of North Carolina at Charlotte
9201 University City Blvd., Charlotte, NC 28223
Email: x.shi@uncc.edu, mindyshi@gmail.com
Phone: 704‑687‑8437, Fax: 704-687-8667
Website: http://shilab.uncc.edu

 

Professional Services:

Postdoctoral fellows

Photo Name and Contact Year In Lab
 

Junjie Chen, Ph.D. in Computer Science

(Harbin Institute of Technology

Shenzhen Graduate School)

Email: jchen67@uncc.edu

2018-
 

Letu Qingge, Ph.D. in Computer Science

(Montana State University)

Email: letu.qingge@uncc.edu

2018-
     

 

 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Students

Photo Name and Contact Year In Lab
 

Katherine Jensen (King-Wooten)
PSM student

Email: kkingwoo@uncc.edu

2015-
 

Jill Jenkins
PSM student

Email: jjenki76@uncc.edu 

2018-
 

Valentina Talevi
PSM student

Email: vtalevi@uncc.edu

2018-
 

Shivam Patel
Undergraduate (Biology Major, Bioinformatics Minor)

Email: spate242@uncc.edu

2019-
 

Krishna Sudhir
Research intern (rising senior at North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics)

Email: sudhir20k@ncssm.edu

2019-


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Alumni

Photo Name and Contact Year In Lab
 

Conor Nodzak
PhD student (2017, graduated May 2019), PSM student (2015-16)

Email: cnodzak@uncc.edu

(Current Position: Quality Assurance Consultant at Bank of America)

2015-19
 

Sisi Yuan
Rotation PhD Student (2018)

Email: syuan4@uncc.edu

2018

Jia Wen, Ph.D. in Statistical Genetics

(Nanjing Agricultural University)

Email: jwen6@uncc.edu

(Current position: Postdoctoral fellow, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)

2015-18

Andrew Quitadamo
PhD student (2013, GAANN Fellow, graduated Dec 2018)

Email: aquitada@uncc.edu

(Current position: Bioinformatics Scientist at Boston Children's Hospital)

2014-18
 

Nishanth (Nish) Singaraju
High school student intern (summer 2018)

(Current Position: undergraduate student at Duke University)

2018
Benika Hall

Benika Hall
PhD student (2012, graduated Dec 2017)

(Current Position: Quantitative Associate at Wells Fargo)

Email: bjohn157@uncc.edu

2014-17

 

 

Erin Tsai

Undergraduate student in biology

Email: etsai3@uncc.edu

2017

 

 

Angat Puri
PSM student (2016)

(Current Position: )

Email: apuri4@uncc.edu

2016-17
 

James Johnson

PhD Rotation (2016)

Email: jjohn443@uncc.edu

2017
 

Lauren Gridley

PSM student (2015)

(Current Position: Bioinformatician at RTI International)

Email: lgridley@uncc.edu

2016-17
 

Alan King
Undergraduate student, B.S. in Biology, minor in Biotechnology

Email: aking94@uncc.edu

2016
 

Nichollette Acosta

Undergraduate student, B.S. in Computer Science, minor in Bioinformatics

Email: nacosta2@uncc.edu

2016
 

Lei Xu
PSM student (2014)

(Current position: FDA)

2015

Sasan Najar
PSM certificate (2014)

2015-16

Heena Desai
PSM student (2014)

2014-16

Dahlia Shvets
PSM student (2014)

(Current Position: Health Services Researcher at Carolinas HealthCare System)

2014-15

Lu Tian
PSM student (2013)

2013-15
  Gang (Chris) Chen
PSM student
2014
  Ana C. Jacobs
Research Intern
2014
 

Frederick Lin
PSM student

(Current Position: Research Data Analyst Associate at Northwestern University)

2013-14
 

Rubén Armañanzas, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Fellow

(Current position: Research Assitant Professor, George Mason University)

2013

 

Brianna Ashylyn Lam
PSM student (2013)

(Current position: Data Analyst at Ace Analytics)

2013
 

Swanthana Rekulapally
PSM student (2013)

(Current position: Next Generation Sequencing Analyst at Robert C. Byrd Biotechnology Science Center)

2013